Edinburgh Rugby Internationals 2017 – RBS 6 Nations 2017

BT Murrayfield Stadium sign

Edinburgh is famous for its incessant calendar of events, but the beginning of each year is dominated by the Rugby Internationals, billed as ‘the world’s greatest rugby tournament.’ The Six Nations – Scotland, England, France, Ireland, Italy, and Wales – host the fixtures across their respective countries. The Scottish venue is the landmark BT Murrayfield Stadium, home of the Scottish Rugby Union since 1925.


A brief history of the Six Nations:

  • The Six Nations has its roots in the Home Nations Championship, the inaugural international rugby union tournament officially established in 1883 (matches had in fact begun from December 1882) with teams from England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales.
  • The Five Nations began with the participation of France from 1910.
  • The Six Nations was established in 2000 when Italy joined the championship.


BT Murrayfield Stadium frontal photo

 Murrayfield facts

With a seating capacity of 67144, Murrayfield is the largest stadium in Scotland. Click on the images below to learn more about this foremost national asset.



Staying in Edinburgh for the Rugby Internationals

Demand is always high for the Six Nations games and so we recommend booking well in advance. At the time of writing, the next match is on Saturday 25th February when Scotland play Wales, with another on Saturday 18th March (Scotland v Italy). To check our availability for these matches, please click here. If you have any enquiries for a specific property, please contact us.








Leave a comment in the Guestbook

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *